October 24 Hour Readathon

IMG_2749.JPG

The event’s coming to a close in the next hour. I definitely could have read more (if I’d stayed off Twitter) but I enjoyed the challenges & interacting with others. Definitely taking part next time & highly recommend to other readers!

End of Event Meme:

Which hour was most daunting for you?
The first hour – didn’t know where to look for challenges etc
Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?
I’d suggest some short story collections so you can pick & mix.
Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
It’s been great, hard to think of anything.
What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?
The hosts were great & all the links worked.
How many books did you read?
2
What were the names of the books you read?
The Monogram Murders & A Twist of the Knife.
Which book did you enjoy most?
Which did you enjoy least?
Both equally
If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? n/a
How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? 100% taking part again, as a reader again, then maybe get more involved in

Best of your reading year

Best book: Apple Tree Yard by Louise Doughty – shocking and stunning My review.

Best cover: Keep Your Friends Close by Paula Daly. This has been my favourite cover all year & it’s a great book too!

IMG_2764.PNG
Best author: I’ve looked at Goodreads & found the author I’ve read most this year which is Sophie Hannah (5 books read) who writes psychological thrillers with amazing plot twists.

Book 1 completed (21 hours in!) 🕙:

IMG_2763.PNG⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

140 character challenge
@TraceyWalsh_: Even though I’m still on Book 1 I’m loving this #readathon. So much going on & lots of book chat with other readathoners & twitter folk 👍😊📚📖

Show It Off Challenge
Has to be my signed copy of Northanger Abbey by Val McDermid

IMG_2718.JPG

IMG_2762.PNG

I’m swapping some books about – removing A Tap On The Window from my stack & slotting in a short story collection A Twist of the Knife by Peter James, which I’ll start as soon as I’ve completed book 1.

IMG_2723.JPG

Name Your Readathon
From my TBR – I name my readathon “A Twist in the Tales”
(A Twist of the Knife by Peter James & Tell No Tales by Eva Dolan)

IMG_2761.JPG

Shelfie Challenge
I’m not a book hoarder but I do keep signed books & proofs – here’s my shelfie

IMG_2206.JPG

Opening Meme:
1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?
Blackburn, England, UK
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?
Falling by Emma Kavanagh – been on TBR ages
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?
Cheese, crackers & wine
4) Tell us a little something about yourself!
Crime fiction addict, especially psychological thrillers. Recently discovered a talent for haiku poems.
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?
Seeing if I can read past usual bedtime!

I’m taking part in another readathon (I love readathons!) This one is a 24 hour readathon that takes place twice a year. Check out http://www.24hourreadathon.com for details.
From 1pm Saturday 18 October, I’ll be doing as much reading as I can fit in to the next 24 hours.
Having checked my TBR pile I expect to read some or all of:
The Monogram Murders by Sophie Hannah
Falling by Emma Kavanagh
A Tap on the Window by Linwood Barclay

IMG_2753.JPG
I’m reader #375.

6 thoughts on “October 24 Hour Readathon

  1. Love seeing all the book pics. Must get the Hercule Peroit book! Next time I am going to go on twitter and read blogs more as the hours go by, thinking it might keep me awake! And I must, must include some short story collections in my TBR Readathon pile. Great tip. Thanks!

Leave a comment