The Monogram Murders by Sophie Hannah. Read October 2014.

Sheer escapism with the return of Poirot.
“Hercule Poirot’s quiet supper in a London coffee house is interrupted when a young woman confides to him that she is about to be murdered…Later that night, Poirot learns that three guests at the fashionable Bloxham Hotel have been murdered, a cufflink placed in each one’s mouth. Could there be a connection with the frightened woman?”
I haven’t read an Agatha Christie novel for donkey’s years. I used to chain read them, devouring each one as soon as I could get my hands on it from the library. I loved them and they laid some of the foundations of my lifelong love of crime fiction. Added to that, Sophie Hannah is one of my favourite contemporary crime writers and her psychological thrillers are among my top reads of recent years. So you could say my expectations were high when I started The Monogram Murders!
I’m pleased to report that I wasn’t disappointed. The plot was clever and well constructed and the characters were a colourful cast who I found at least as believable as those in the original Poirot stories.
Some suspension of disbelief was necessary in order to enjoy the book fully, but once this was achieved I wallowed in the mystery and its intricate explanation.
From the style to the plotting I could easily have taken this book to be an Agatha Christie original and enjoyed it as such, and now I’m hoping there may be more to come.

IMG_2763.PNG

3 thoughts on “The Monogram Murders by Sophie Hannah. Read October 2014.

Leave a Reply

