An Unfamiliar Murder by Jane Isaac. Read April 2015.

Why did I leave this languishing on my Kindle for so long? I won’t make the same mistake with Book 2!

“Arriving home from a routine day at work, Anna Cottrell has no idea that her life is about to change forever. But…becoming prime suspect in a murder enquiry is only the beginning. Her persistent claims of innocence start to crumble when new evidence links her irrevocably with the victim… Leading her first murder enquiry, DCI Helen Lavery unravels a trail of deception, family secrets and betrayal.”

I read a lot of crime fiction and sometimes the crime dominates my attention, sometimes the detective’s own story is more intriguing. An Unfamiliar Murder gives the reader a 2-for-1 experience. The initial crime scene is presented early on and is shocking and original. Then we meet DCI Helen Lavery and her family who drew me in and made me a part of their domestic drama.

The author gives us a richly developed cast of characters as well as a clever and intelligent plot. I recommend this book to crime fiction fans who enjoy police procedurals but also want believable characters they can care about.

My copy was purchased from Amazon Kindle Store.

  

2 thoughts on “An Unfamiliar Murder by Jane Isaac. Read April 2015.

Leave a Reply

