Death in the Rainy Season by Anna Jacquiery. Read March 2015.

One of my most eagerly anticipated reads this year.

“Phnom Penh, Cambodia; the rainy season. When a French man, Hugo Quercy, is found brutally murdered, Commandant Serge Morel finds his holiday drawn to an abrupt halt…Opening his investigation, the Parisian detective soon finds himself buried in one of his most challenging cases yet…A deeply atmospheric crime novel that bristles with truth and deception, secrets and lies: Death in the Rainy Season is a compelling mystery that unravels an exquisitely wrought human tragedy.”

I thoroughly enjoyed being reunited with Morel having loved Book 1 – The Lying-Down Room. As well as a superbly plotted story, this time we learn more about Morel’s family history but I missed the close involvement and intrigues of his Parisian colleagues.

One of the things I appreciate most about the author’s writing style is the way she slowly builds up background and atmosphere with all the characters and weaves them into an intricate plot. This makes her books irresistible and addictive (this is me trying to avoid the word unputdownable).

Death in the Rainy Season could easily be read as a standalone novel – this from a reader who is usually a stickler for reading series in order. I know I won’t be the only reader impatiently awaiting the next instalment.

Thank you to the publisher, Mantle, for the advance review copy of the book.



2 thoughts on “Death in the Rainy Season by Anna Jacquiery. Read March 2015.

  1. I’m almost ashamed to admit that I was seething with envy as I read this, as I’ve been dying to read this one ever since I read Anna Jaquiery’s first novel (besides, I interviewed her on my blog and really could relate to her nomadic background etc.). So I kicked up a fuss, begged shamelessly and will now receive an ARC of this book too. Out next month, apparently, I hope it does really well – she is such an interesting writer!

Leave a Reply

