The Shut Eye by Belinda Bauer. Read March 2015.

I’m glad I don’t read the blurb on books before I read them, as this one might have put me off because I’ve always tended to avoid anything to do with the supernatural or psychic powers. Then I would have missed a great read that had me biting my nails towards the end.

“Five footprints are the only sign that Daniel Buck was ever here.

And now they are all his mother has left.
Every day, Anna Buck guards the little prints in the cement. Polishing them to a shine. Keeping them safe. Spiralling towards insanity.
When a psychic offers hope, Anna grasps it. Who wouldn’t? Maybe he can tell her what happened to her son…
But is this man what he claims to be? Is he a visionary? A shut eye? Or a cruel fake, preying on the vulnerable?
Or is he something far, far worse?”

The Shut Eye is full of strong characters, with even the bit part players described in a way that brings them to life. 

The author grabbed me from the first few chapters and it was one of those books that stay in your mind even when you’re not reading. One thing that makes it particularly memorable is that even when the tension was almost unbearable, there would be a quirky turn of phrase that made me smile or even laugh out loud.
Recommended for readers who like something different and who can suspend disbelief and enjoy the ride.

Thank you to the publisher, via Netgalley, for the e-book to review.


2 thoughts on “The Shut Eye by Belinda Bauer. Read March 2015.

  1. I just finished it this morning. I was not as enamoured of it as I might have been, and not just because of the subject matter. There is something just a little too ‘lazy’ about the police investigation. But I do admit it’s well written and some of the characters are really affecting. And I like the detective’s self-deprecating humour.

    • I enjoyed a change from my usual reading & the characters made it for me particularly DCI Marvel & Anna.

Leave a Reply

