A Pleasure And A Calling by Phil Hogan. Read February 2015.

One of the creepiest books I have read (and I read a lot of creepy books).
“You won’t remember Mr Heming. He showed you round your comfortable home, suggested a sustainable financial package, negotiated a price with the owner and called you with the good news. The less good news is that, all these years later, he still has the key.
That’s absurd, you laugh. Of all the many hundreds of houses he has sold, why would he still have the key to mine? The answer to that is, he has the keys to them all.”
I’ve had this book on my to-read list for several months but moved it to the top after a strong recommendation from fellow crime fiction lover Janet O’Kane. Now of course I wish I’d read it sooner.
The story is told entirely from the viewpoint of the narrator, Mr Heming. He tells us of his obsessive activities as if they are perfectly normal and rational and I admit that for large parts of the book I was on his side. We also learn in instalments about his disturbed childhood. A cast of characters from past and present make this a rich and interesting story as well as a gripping thriller. The plot develops smoothly but with moments of genuine horror thrown in along the way.
It’s a 5 star read (though I had a couple of niggles regarding the likelihood of some of the action going unnoticed).
Thank you to the publisher, via Netgalley, for the e-book to review.

IMG_3787

8 thoughts on “A Pleasure And A Calling by Phil Hogan. Read February 2015.

    • That’s a good comparison, it’s exactly that – I knew I should condemn him but was willing him to get his own way.

  1. I’ve got to finish this – ludicrously, I stopped reading it to read something else, and because it’s on the Kindle, and I’ve so many books on there, I keep forgetting to finish it. I’m at one of the digressions into his past, about the middle. I thought it was really funny, I was laughing out loud quite a bit. Tom Ripley is an excellent comparison. You want them to get away with it!

Leave a Reply

