The Crooked House by Christobel Kent. Read January 2015.

One of the most shocking openings to a crime novel I can remember.
“Alison is as close to anonymous as she can get…But once Alison was someone else: once she was Esme Grace, a teenager whose bedroom sat at the top of a remote and dilapidated house on the edge of a bleak estuary. A girl whose family, if not happy, exactly, was no unhappier than anyone else’s – or so she thought.
Then one night a terrible thing happened in the crooked house, a nightmare of violence out of which Alison emerged the only witness and sole survivor and from which she has been running ever since.”
This book has a wonderfully constructed plot and a cast of characters that bring the story to life and hooked me in from the start.
The setting for most of the action is described so well I felt as if I was there watching the story develop.
The only thing I struggled with was that flashbacks/memories merged with current events, to-ing and fro-ing so fast it made my head spin.
Apart from that, an absorbing read that I would highly recommend. Thank you to the publisher, via Netgalley, for the advance copy e-book to review.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9c1/63624203/files/2015/01/img_3415.png

4 thoughts on “The Crooked House by Christobel Kent. Read January 2015.

  1. Absolutely – great openings are guaranteed to keep you reading. I’ve read a couple of good reviews of this and am looking forward to getting into it myself; I’ve not read any Christobel Kent but I do have one from a series that was 59p on Kindle so I had to have it; I probably wouldn’t have noticed it but for reading good things about this book.

    • Oh no! I always go on straightaway & move the book to Kindle just incase! Thanks for reminder – I forgot to acknowledge Netgalley in my review, off to amend.

Leave a Reply

