Bout of Books 12

IMG_3298.JPG

This is my ‘wrap up’ post for Bout of Books 12 (My 3rd BoB readathon).

For all Bout of Books 12 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.

My Goals

I usually read about 1 or 2 books per week. For the readathon week I was aiming to read at least 3 and possibly 4 books, to kick start my assault on my to-be-read mountain. In the end I only managed to read 1.5 books but I enjoyed the week, especially linking up with others on Twitter to set our own mini targets.

Books to Read

These were the books on my TBR:

The Crooked House by Christobel Kent
Second life by SJ Watson
The Burning by Jane Casey
Disclaimer by Renee Knight

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9c1/63624203/files/2015/01/img_0277.png

Daily Progress Tracking

Monday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Number of pages read today: 75
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Total Number of pages read: 75
Books: The Crooked House by Christobel Kent

Challenge 1: Bookshelf Scavenger Hunt
Find a book with the following criteria on a bookshelf:
1. Find an author with the same initials as you
Tim Weaver
2. Find a book with the color yellow on
it
Want You Dead by Peter James
3. Find an author’s name with the letter “S” in it
Sarah Hilary
4. Find a book with a female protagonist
A Dark And Twisted Tide by Sharon Bolton
5. Find the longest book you own
The Lost Symbol 670 pages
6. Find a book with a map in it or on it
Dead Scared by Sharon Bolton
7. Find a book with a face on it (photograph or illustrated)
The Liar’s Chair by a Rebecca Whitney
Bonus: Find something on your shelf that isn’t a book.
My car documents

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9c1/63624203/files/2015/01/img_3431.jpg

Challenge 2: New Year’s Resolutions
Whether you have made reading resolutions or want to use general life resolutions you have made over the New Year holiday, pick books with titles that relate to each of your resolutions. You can post as many or as few as you would like:

Just one for me:
Dead Simple by Peter James
My reading resolution this year is simply to read all the books I already have before buying any more. (Though I did sneak 3 pre-orders in). This means reading 96 books in the year which I’ve set as my Goodreads Challenge target.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9c1/63624203/files/2015/01/img_3432.jpg

Tuesday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Number of pages read today: 50
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Total Number of pages read: 125
Books: The Crooked House by Christobel Kent

Challenge: Top 10 Recommendations
For more information about today’s challenge please visit http://treesofreverie.com/post/107288766633/bout-of-books-12-challenge-top-10-recommendations

To see my 10 recommendations please click here.

Wednesday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Number of pages read today: 243
Total number of books I’ve read: 368
Total Number of pages read: 1
Books: The Crooked House by Christobel Kent

Challenge: Character Coupling
The rules – You must take two characters from two different books and put them together in a relationship. Make sure you list the book and author that the characters comes from.
You must explain why you put them together.
The relationship is up to you (friendship, romantic, parental, etc.), let’s just keep it appropriate, please.
Characters must come from different books and series.

I’d send Matilda from Roald Dahl’s book of the same name, to Hogwarts to be best friends with Hermione from the Harry Potter series by J K Rowling.
My reason is they both love reading & learning and could help each other with their magical powers.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9c1/63624203/files/2015/01/img_3465.png

Thursday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Number of pages read today: 77
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Total Number of pages read: 445
Books: The Crooked House by Christobel Kent
Second Life by S J Watson

Challenge: Synopsis Challenge:

My synopsis for Christobel Kent’s THE CROOKED HOUSE.
“As a young teenager Esme was the sole survivor of a family massacre.
As Alison she has created a new life for herself.
Circumstances conspire to take her back to the scene of the tragedy
How will she cope?”

Friday
Number of books I’ve read today: 0
Number of pages read today: 0
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Total Number of pages read: 445
Books: The Crooked House by Christobel Kent
Second Life by S J Watson

Saturday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Number of pages read today: 61
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Total Number of pages read: 506
Books: The Crooked House by Christobel Kent
Second Life by S J Watson

Sunday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Number of pages read today: 58
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Total Number of pages read: 564
Books: The Crooked House by Christobel Kent
Second Life by S J Watson

6 thoughts on “Bout of Books 12

Leave a Reply

