The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins. Read December 2014.

I can’t say this book was unputdownable – at times I had to put it down so I could catch my breath and get my head around what was happening.
“Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck…Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.
And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed.”
It’s hard to review this book without risking spoilers so I’ll keep it brief. The author’s writing style is perfect for this kind of fast-paced thriller.
The first person narrative alternating between the main female characters made me feel like a mutual friend of each woman. Sure that they had my sympathy they were confiding in me, not realising that with a turn of the page I’d switch allegiance.
For the first time in a while I found myself suspicious of almost every character involved in the main plot, so I can hardly take credit for guessing the ‘big reveal’. I’d recommend The Girl on the Train to lovers of psychological thrillers that don’t pull any punches.
Thank you to the publisher for the advance reading copy.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/9c1/63624203/files/2014/12/img_3351.png

9 thoughts on “The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins. Read December 2014.

  1. Now I’m going to have to read this…when I read your reviews you always spoil my reading plans (in the best possible way!) Love a book that had you constantly double-guessing characters and changing allegiances – plus it takes a lot of skill to have your readers feeling like that! Definitely just up my street!

  2. It’s you two who are making me move this to the top of my TBR list! I’ve got so many reviews to catch up on, think I’ll be borrowing Mum’s laptop and getting on top of them all before the year’s out…But this is the first book of 2015 I’m mega excited about!

  3. Haven’t heard of that one – must investigate! (Before Hogmanay though – got to get the TBR Double Dog Dare off to a good start! Can see me spending most of that day on the net, buying anything I’ve missed!)

Leave a Reply

