I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh. Read November 2014.

I loved this book! That just about sums it up but is not quite enough, even for my short reviews, so I’ll try and do it justice below.
“In a split second, Jenna Gray’s world descends into a nightmare. Her only hope of moving on is to walk away from everything she knows to start afresh. Desperate to escape, Jenna moves to a remote cottage on the Welsh coast, but she is haunted by her fears, her grief and her memories of a cruel November night that changed her life forever.”
Right from the start, with a tragic incident, this book grabs the reader and won’t let go.
The author’s experience of police procedure stands out and gives authenticity to the plot, which races along and left me breathless at times.
And here’s a thing I don’t remember happening before – the book has lots of ‘sliding doors’ moments and I found myself drifting off imagining what would have happened to the characters with each option. It probably trebled the time it took to read but I really enjoyed it.
I look forward to reading more by Clare Mackintosh and recommend this debut to all crime and psychological thriller fans.
Thank you to the publisher for my copy which was a competition prize.

IMG_3141.JPG

11 thoughts on “I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh. Read November 2014.

Leave a Reply

