Long Way Home by Eva Dolan. Read November 2014.

Harrowing, thrilling, depressing, menacing – but most of all a fabulous and gripping read.
“A man is burnt alive in a shed. No witnesses, no fingerprints – only a positive ID of the victim as an immigrant with a long list of enemies. Detectives Zigic and Ferreira are called in from the Hate Crimes Unit to track the killer, and are met with silence in a Fenland community ruled by slum racketeers, people-trafficking gangs and fear.”
Like most people I’ve seen reports on the news about people trafficking and slave labour conditions endured by immigrant workers, and shrugged them off as someone else’s problem. This book opened my eyes and changed my attitude. Some of the events are truly horrific but it’s impossible to put the book aside or pretend such things couldn’t happen.
I enjoyed the writing style, flipping from action packed scenes to descriptions in minute detail. Even minor characters are given shape and believability which contributes to a satisfying reading experience.
I would recommend Long Way Home to fans of gritty crime fiction, who enjoy strong characters and a well developed plot.
My copy was purchased from Amazon Kindle Store.

IMG_3077.PNG

3 thoughts on “Long Way Home by Eva Dolan. Read November 2014.

  1. The subject and the style are my cup of depressing tea… I actually know Eva (online, not in person), was supposed to receive an ARC, somehow it didn’t happen, so I bought a copy myself… still haven’t read it, but it’s one I’m looking forward to reading! And I will before the year is out!

Leave a Reply

