The Life I Left Behind by Colette McBeth. Read November 2014.

Having enjoyed the author’s debut novel (Precious Thing) so much I had high expectations of this book. I’m happy to report that it didn’t disappoint.
“I’m the only one who knows the secrets her friends have hidden, the mistakes the police have made.
I’m the only one who can warn her she’s still in danger.
I know exactly who attacked her.
He’s the same man who killed me.”
The voice of Eve is one of the most compelling I’ve ever read and will haunt me long after finishing this book. Her narration of the events following her murder and the flashbacks to events six years earlier, gradually unravel a complex mystery that is cleverly plotted.
I spotted the killer quite early on but the twists and turns in the story were enough to make me doubt my theory several times which made for a satisfying read.
I recommend this book to psychological thriller fans who like some depth and believability to the characters.
Thank you to the publisher, via Netgalley, for the advance copy e-book.

IMG_3010.PNG

Leave a Reply

