A Twist Of The Knife by Peter James. Read October 2014.

I quickly realised this wouldn’t be bedtime reading, then rationed myself to a few stories a day so I could savour the experience.
“With each twist of the knife, a chilling new journey begins…From a woman intent on bizarre revenge, to a restaurant critic with a morbid fear of the number thirteen; and from a man arranging a life-changing assignation, to a couple heading for a disaster-filled vacation . . .”
A new Peter James book is one of the highlights of my year but I confess my heart fell when I realised it was a short story collection. I’ve never been a fan of short stories – I don’t like the feeling of just getting to know the characters then it’s all over too quickly. A Twist of the Knife has completely changed my opinion. Each story was a new delight and even the very short ones (less than a page) had an impact.
Whilst reading A Twist of the Knife I heard a radio interview with the author who gave some background to some of the stories. This added an extra dimension to my enjoyment of the book.
The stories I most enjoyed were those based on true incidents as they challenged my scepticism of all things paranormal. I vow to be more open-minded in future.
Thank you to the publisher, via Midas PR, for the proof copy to review.

IMG_2847.PNG

2 thoughts on “A Twist Of The Knife by Peter James. Read October 2014.

  1. I have this TBR, and like you I never used to be a fan of short stories. But I find them handy reading for when you only have a few minutes to spare, like when you’re waiting at the doctor’s or dentist’s for your appointment, or waiting for a prescription to be dispensed, or on a short bus journey. So I guess I’ve learned to love them! Also, your review makes me look forward to this particular collection all the more. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

