No Safe House by Linwood Barclay. Read September 2014.

The sequel to ‘No Time For Goodbye’.
“Seven years ago, Terry Archer and his family experienced a horrific ordeal that nearly cost them their lives. Today, the echoes of that fateful night are still audible.”
I thoroughly enjoyed No Time For Goodbye so when I heard Linwood Barclay had written a sequel I was keen to read it as soon as possible. Unfortunately the new book was a bit of a disappointment, in my opinion. To be fair it was always going to be difficult – No Time For Goodbye was such a hard act to follow. Having joined the characters in a breathtaking adventure and cared so much about what happened to them, in the new book I found myself getting frustrated with them. The time it took me to read the book, far longer than usual, shows me that I wasn’t engaging with the characters or the plot. Having said that, I read the second half quite quickly because the action sped up somewhat.
I still have a number of standalone Barclay novels on my TBR and this book hasn’t put me off reading them. I’m sure they’ll be the well plotted, action packed stories I’m used to, but for me No Safe House was a sequel too far.
Thank you to the publisher, via Netgalley, for the advance copy e-book.

IMG_2583.PNG

2 thoughts on “No Safe House by Linwood Barclay. Read September 2014.

  1. Sorry to hear this one was a bit of a disappointment – sequels are always tricky. I like Linwood Barclay very much, but his novels do seem to be particularly well suited to be standalones.

Leave a Reply

