Binary Witness by Rosie Claverton. Read September 2014.

This first book in the Amy Lane series kept my attention and kept me guessing throughout.
“Police detectives rely on Amy Lane to track the digital debris of their most elusive criminals—when she’s not in the throes of a panic attack…From the safety of her computer, she looks through the city’s digital eyes to trace the steps of a killer.”
I thoroughly enjoyed Binary Witness and felt as though I’d known the characters for ages because they were so well described. I particularly appreciated that the police officers weren’t portrayed as bungling idiots – they simply acknowledged and made use of Amy’s skills, while getting on with the job.
Amy’s way of working is reminiscent of the investigatory methods of Jeffery Deaver’s Lincoln Rhyme, but whereas we know Rhyme’s back story, Amy’s past is shrouded in secrecy. The author gives us a few pieces of a tantalising jigsaw that will hopefully be revealed in future instalments.
I have just one small complaint (due to my pedantry). There were a few inconsistencies of time/place that spoilt my enjoyment slightly. However that doesn’t stop me recommending Binary Witness as a breath of fresh air in the sometimes predictable world of crime fiction. I’m lucky enough to have an advance copy of the follow up, Code Runner, and look forward to reading it in a few books’ time.

IMG_2377.PNG

7 thoughts on “Binary Witness by Rosie Claverton. Read September 2014.

Leave a Reply

