Darkside by Belinda Bauer. Read August 2014.

I challenge anyone to solve this whodunnit before the author reveals all.
“In bleak midwinter, the people of Shipcott are shocked by the murder of an elderly woman in her bed. As snow cuts off the village, local policeman Jonas Holly is torn between catching a brutal killer and protecting his vulnerable wife, Lucy.”
This is the first of Belinda Bauer’s books I’ve read, though I have two others waiting on my TBR pile. Darkside is the first book for a while that has given me one of my favourite reading experiences – a heart stopping, horrific penny-dropping moment when I knew what was going to happen. Except it didn’t happen! And that was even better because it was a first – the author had led me down a path and I followed blindly, patting myself on the back for being so clever. Well, I thoroughly enjoyed being proved wrong and I’m now very frustrated as I can’t explain further without spoilers.
The characters are believable – the residents of a small village compared with the squad of police who descend to investigate the crime.
The only negative point was that I found parts of the book slow-going and repetitive, but the clever plot more than compensated.
I was very pleased to find that this was the first of a series and I’ve moved ‘Finders Keepers’ up the TBR accordingly.
I can honestly recommend Darkside as a very different crime fiction read.

IMG_2170.JPG

2 thoughts on “Darkside by Belinda Bauer. Read August 2014.

  1. I love when books seem to lead us to a place and then it isn’t true at all. It isn’t that common, though, so that makes Darkside quite a special book!

Leave a Reply

