July 2014

20140630-174956-64196808.jpg

Welcome to my monthly round-up for July 2014 and one that marks the blog being 6 months old today! (31st July).

These posts showcase the books I’ve bought, begged, borrowed or won (I draw the line at stolen!) during the previous month. I’ll try to mention everyone that appears in the blog, in a tweet when I publish the post, but I apologise in advance to anyone I’ve forgotten.
So here we go:

Books I’ve Bought
During July I bought on Kindle;
To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee
Slow Bleed by Tim Adler
No Stranger To Death by Janet O’Kane
A Breach of Security by Susan Hill
Paperback:
Too Close To Home by Linwood Barclay
Rubbernecker by Belinda Bauer
Both paperbacks bought during Bookshop Crawl – more details in ‘Events’ below.

Books I’ve ‘Begged’
This Is The Water by Yannick Murphy via Bookbridgr

Books I’ve Borrowed
No Time For Goodbye by Linwood Barclay
from Blackburn libraries (@LibrariesBWD)
20140730-102529-37529760.jpg

Books I’ve Won
The Best Thing That Never Happened To Me by Laura Tait & Jimmy Rice via Transworld Books
20140730-102721-37641069.jpg

No Mercy by John Burley via Avon Books
20140730-102843-37723027.jpg

Promise Not To Tell by Jennifer McMahon via Indigo / Goodreads
20140730-103000-37800676.jpg

Review Round-up
During July I read and reviewed:
Remember Me This Way by Sabine Durrant
Surrogate by Tim Adler
The String Diaries by Stephen Lloyd Jones
Original Skin by David Mark – guest review for Shazsbookblog
The One You Fear by Paul Pilkington
This Is The Water by Yannick Murphy

My Book of the Month for July was
This Is The Water by Yannick Murphy
20140730-103126-37886723.jpg

Events
There was lots going on in July:

Bookshop Crawl
Saturday 5th July saw book lovers all over the country celebrating Independent Booksellers’ Week with a bookshop crawl.

Tim Adler Blog Tour
Thank you to Louise @crimebookclub for inviting me to be part of the blog tour for Tim Adler’s new book Surrogate.

#Sunathon
The week long readathon #sunathon was created by Emma at Emma Louise book blog.

#NTFG Readalong
Having borrowed Linwood Barclay’s No Time For Goodbye from the library I was happy to find out Vicky at Books, Biscuits and Tea blog was organising a readalong ahead of publication of the sequel.

And finally, I was thrilled to spot a quote from my review of The Long Fall by Julia Crouch on a poster used at the book launch:

20140731-180601-65161733.jpg

4 thoughts on “July 2014

  1. Hi,

    Happy six month birthday to your blog. I’ll be posting my first monthly reading round up on my own blog tomorrow and so have been reading this post for inspiration. How did you find #sunathon? I’ve signed up to the bout of books read-a-thon in august but am tempted to join in on the #fallathon fun also.

Leave a Reply

