Someone Else’s Skin by Sarah Hilary. Read June 2014.

A beautifully written crime novel that kept me guessing throughout.
“Some secrets keep you safe, others will destroy you…”
I started my book blog a few weeks before the UK publication date for Someone Else’s Skin so I’ll always remember it as the first book where I was aware of the ‘Twitter buzz’ building. Several of the bloggers I follow posted enthusiastic reviews and in the weeks since then the book has been staring at me from my TBR pile invitingly. At last this week its turn came and I am so pleased to say that it did not disappoint.
On the face of it Someone Else’s Skin is a crime fictiion/police procedural debut novel but it is set apart from the pack by the quality of the writing. The detailed and emotive descriptions and the cleverly constructed plot reminded me of Sharon Bolton’s books.
The main character, DI Marnie Rome, has a fascinating and tragic back story that is drip fed to the reader throughout the book. Her ‘sidekick’ Noah Jake is by no means your run of the mill police sergeant. The love interest for both these characters will hopefully be developed further in the next book. The ‘baddies’ and victims in the various strands of the plot are well drawn with realistic motivation and the main theme of domestic violence was obviously researched in depth.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for an enthralling read.
With thanks to @pamreader for the copy I won in her blog competition. Note to self – don’t wait so long to read next time, the Twitter buzz is usually right.
Highly recommended.

20140627-002338-1418179.jpg

2 thoughts on “Someone Else’s Skin by Sarah Hilary. Read June 2014.

  1. Great review and I totally get the Sharon Bolton comparison. However, I thought Hilary paid much more attention to gender, social class and sexuality issues which is one of the many reasons I love the genre. Also, welcome to the book blogging world 😀

Leave a Reply

