The Long Fall by Julia Crouch. Read June 2014.

A masterclass in suspense and psychological turmoil.
“How far would you go to protect your secrets?…two worlds are about to collide. Somebody’s out for revenge. Someone who has been waiting thirty years…”
Told partly through the journal kept by 18 year old Emma on her travels in 1980, and partly the story of present day Kate, this is a gripping and spellbinding book with some moments of real horror. The author blends the two strands of the story skilfully, building tension in both ‘time zones’.
The story was all the more poignant for me as my age matches Kate’s in the present and, like Emma, I was travelling in the south of France in the summer if 1980. The authenticity of the book suggests the author was doing the same. I swear I could feel the baking heat while I was drinking in the descriptions of people, places and relationships.
This is the first Julia Crouch book I’ve read but I’ve made sure another is already lined up in my TBR pile.
Highly recommended for psychological thriller fans or anyone who enjoys a well written and absorbing read.
Thank you to the publisher via Bookbridgr and Netgalley for the advance copy.

20140618-203153-73913673.jpg

4 thoughts on “The Long Fall by Julia Crouch. Read June 2014.

  1. How great that you had the extra dimension of similar experiences to Emma (although not too similar, I hope?) I have enjoyed all Julia Crouch’s books but her debut Cuckoo has to be my favourite.

    • No, apart from age & location the experience was very different I’m glad to say! I have ‘Tarnished’ to read & will put Cuckoo on my wish list, thanks.

  2. Hi Tracey – Thanks for a great review! I’m the same age as you, and I did undertake the same journey as Emma in the book (though I didn’t have the same ‘adventures’!) In fact, I used my diary of the time as source material. We may even have met at a Youth Hostel or campsite in the South of France!

    • I did a ‘Literature Course’at Nice University that summer which actually involved turning up for a couple of lectures and spending the rest of the month lounging around in the sun. The train journey south was a nightmare & my main trauma was finding out we’d been fed mainly horseburgers😳. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Leave a Reply

