Sycamore Row by John Grisham. Read May 2014.

“Jake Brigance has never met Seth Hubbard, or even heard of him, until the old man’s suicide note names him attorney for his estate. The will is dynamite…The vultures are circling even before the body is cold: the only subject more incendiary than money in Ford County is race, and this case has both.”
24 years after A Time To Kill, this sequel featuring lawyer Jake Brigance was published. I’ve read most of John Grisham’s books (the next one on my wishlist is The Confession) and always enjoyed them as well written, gripping, drama-filled stories, and Sycamore Row is definitely up there with the best of them.
I loved meeting up with Jake and his family again and wallowing in the atmosphere of a small town in the southern states. I hate spoilers in reviews so I’m not going to detail any of the plot twists. Suffice to say any fan of John Grisham will devour this book and for anyone new to the author I would suggest reading A Time to Kill first so that the references make sense, however I think this could be read and enjoyed as a standalone.
Highly recommended

20140524-183428-66868780.jpg

4 thoughts on “Sycamore Row by John Grisham. Read May 2014.

  1. This was actually my first John Grisham book, and I thought it worked just fine as a stand-alone. I was at least familiar with the concept of A Time to Kill, but I knew only the barest details.

Leave a Reply

