Bout of Books 10

This post sets out my goals for the Bout of Books 10 Readathon and my daily progress updates.
Details of the readathon can be found here
Image

Time Devoted to Reading

I will be reading all week but the time available will be dependent on appointments and family commitments and so must be flexible.

My Goals

I usually read about 1 or 2 books per week. For the readathon week I am aiming to read at least 3 and possibly 4 books.

Books to Read

First I will finish the book I’m currently reading (Bones by Jonathan Kellerman) and then –
The books I aim to read are:
Sleep Tight by Rachel Abbott
Sycamore Row by John Grisham
Stop Dead by Leigh Russell
Want You Dead by Peter James

20140510-081245.jpg

20140510-081826.jpg

Updates

Monday
Posted a comment for the ‘Like X, then try Y’ challenge (If you like crime fiction series try the Lacey Flint books by Sharon Bolton starting with Now You See Me).
Posted a photo for the ‘get your read on’ challenge

20140512-132054.jpg
Joined in Twitter chat
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Books: Bones by Jonathan Kellerman

Tuesday
Entered the challenge – My List of Books I’m Looking Forward To:
The next 10 books on my TBR list are:
Sycamore Row by John Grisham
Stop Dead by Leigh Russell
Want You Dead by Peter James
Fatal Act by Leigh Russell
The Vanishing Point by Val McDermid
The Bone Bed by PatricianCornwell
In the Woods by Tana French
Lifeless by Mark Billingham
The Long Fall by Julia Crouch
Someone else’s skin by Sarah Hilary
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Books: Sleep Tight by Rachel Abbott
Bones by Jonathan Kellerman

Wednesday
Entered the challenge – This Makes Me Think Of That: I’m currently reading Sleep Tight by Rachel Abbott and this made me think of Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I can’t explain fully without spoilers so I’ll just say both books involve missing people where there’s more going on than meets the eye.
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Books: Sleep Tight by Rachel Abbott
Bones by Jonathan Kellerman

Thursday
Entered the a Spell it Out challenge – Using the titles of some of the books I’ve read this year to spell out my blog name TraceyBookLover

20140515-133829.jpg
Number of books I’ve read today: 2
Total number of books I’ve read: 3
Books: Sleep Tight by Rachel Abbott
Bones by Jonathan Kellerman
Sycamore Row by John Grisham

Friday
Entered Book Rainbow challenge
20140516-132653.jpg
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Total number of books I’ve read: 3
Books: Sleep Tight by Rachel Abbott
Bones by Jonathan Kellerman
Sycamore Row by John Grisham

Saturday
Entered challenge – Show Author Love
@TraceyBookLover: #boutofbooks #showauthorlove for @LeighRussell because I’ll be meeting her at Wigan Library on Weds & I’d like my book signed 😉 #StopDead
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Total number of books I’ve read: 3
Books: Sleep Tight by Rachel Abbott
Bones by Jonathan Kellerman
Sycamore Row by John Grisham

Sunday
Entered Day 7 challenge – Rename your current read:
I’m currently reading Sycamore Row by John Grisham which is the sequel to a book he wrote many years ago called A Time To Kill. I’d rename my current read A Time To Reap because it comes from the same biblical quote as the original and is about people getting their just desserts.
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Total number of books I’ve read: 3
Books: Sleep Tight by Rachel Abbott
Bones by Jonathan Kellerman
Sycamore Row by John Grisham

Recap of the week
I read 3 books (only completed 1 full book, the other 2 were part read). Only 2 of the books were on my planned list.
I enjoyed the week & entered at least 1 challenge each day.
I’m going to carry on setting reading targets with other book lovers on Twitter to keep us focused on getting through the TBR pile.
I’m going to join in again in August.
Thanks for a great week!

10 thoughts on “Bout of Books 10

    • Thank you! Was lucky enough to win a hard cover copy of Sycamore Row – need to read & review it by 18th May to be in with a chance of winning his new book. Love your blog, glad I’m not the only fan of ‘mini-reviews’.

  1. I hope you enjoy Sleep Tight, I really loved this one Rachel Abbott’s writing gets better with each book. I have Want You Dead on my list to read later this month, I can’t wait to get stuck into this one. Good luck with your challenge.

Leave a Reply

