The Carrier by Sophie Hannah. Read April 2014.

“He swore he was a killer. The truth was worse.”
The Carrier is the kind of book that reminds me why I love crime fiction and psychological thrillers. Sophie Hannah’s characters are so well described and developed, they burrow into the reader’s mind, demanding attention even while the book has been put aside.
I will keep this brief as I’m finding it difficult to refer to the plot without risking spoilers. The relationships between recurring characters take more of a back seat than usual, and the cast of characters for the main plot play out a fascinating, if at times far-fetched, tragic scenario.
I decided I had worked out what was going on twice (both wrong) and was surprised by the final outcome. Part way through my attention was drawn to some of the reviews this book had received, leading me to conclude it’s a Marmite book (Love/Hate) in which case I loved it.

20140422-115243.jpg

Leave a Reply

