Showcase Sunday March 2014

Welcome to my second Showcase Sunday post – Inspired by Vicky at Books, Biscuits and Tea. Please also check out the other Showcase Sunday posts at Books, Biscuits and Tea blog

20140406-101847.jpg

These posts, each first Sunday of the month, showcase the books I’ve bought, begged, borrowed or won (I draw the line at stolen!) during the previous month. I’ll try to mention everyone that appears in the blog, in a tweet when I publish the post, but I apologise in advance to anyone I’ve forgotten.
So here we go:

Books I’ve Bought
During March I bought on Kindle:
Taunting the Dead by Mel Sharratt

Books I’ve Begged
Don’t Stand So Close by Luana Lewis via netgalley / Transworld
A Pleasure And A Calling by Phil Hogan via netgalley / Transworld
The Telling Error by Sophie Hannah via netgalley / Hodder & Staughton
The Lying-Down Room by Anna Jacquiery via Sophie Orme / Mantle, Pan Macmillan
What You Wish For by Mark Edwards
The Long Fall by Julia Crouch via Bookbridgr
The Dead Ground by Claire McGowan via Bookbridgr
Precious Thing by Colette McBeth via Bookbridgr
The Killing Season by Mason Cross via netgalley / Orion

Books I’ve Borrowed
Lasting Damage, Kind of Cruel & The Carrier by Sophie Hannah

20140331-205222.jpg

The Bone Bed by Patricia Cornwell
In the Woods by Tana French
Naming the Dead by Ian Rankin
Lifeless by Mark Billingham
Blue Monday by Nicci French
The Lost by Claire McGowan

20140405-161533.jpg

All the above borrowed from Blackburn libraries (@LibrariesBWD)

Books I’ve Won

Precious Thing by Colette McBeth (signed) – prize for contributing 2 words to describe friendship, one good and one bad, as part of a trailer for the book. My words were: Vital & Vicious. View the trailer Here
Enter a prize draw to win a copy of Precious Thing Here

Morning Frost by James Henry via Transworld – won in a Twitter prize draw

Review Round-up
During March I read and reviewed:

A Dark And Twisted Tide by Sharon Bolton
The Shadows in the Street by Susan Hill
The Accident by C L Taylor
Where the Devil Can’t Go & Death Can’t Take A Joke by Anya Lipska
What You a Wish For by Mark Edwards
The Lying-Down Room by Anna Jaquiery

My Book of the Month for March was Death Can’t Take A Joke by Anya Lipska

20140401-131715.jpg

Events
On 19th March I hosted the Paula Daly Blog Tour with an author Q&A that you can see here. This was a mega-blog-tour as you can see from the Tour Poster

I was lucky enough to win tickets for an event at Waterstones, Manchester on 26th March to hear Val McDermid discuss Northanger Abbey which was being released the following day. Val kindly signed my proof copy of the book:

20140405-162906.jpg

5 thoughts on “Showcase Sunday March 2014

Leave a Reply

