What You Wish For by Mark Edwards. Read March 2014.

“From the author of No.1 bestseller The Magpies comes a gripping new tale of suspense. Marie Walker has vanished from the face of the earth…
Her besotted boyfriend, newspaper photographer Richard Thompson, vows to find her, convinced that Marie’s unusual beliefs hold the key”.
This story gives a whole new meaning to the phrase Star Crossed Lovers. I approached it somewhat cynically as it didn’t sound anything like my usual reading matter, but having raced through it over a couple of days I’m very glad I didn’t let that put me off. In fact, I wasn’t many chapters into the book before I had suspended disbelief and become submerged in the weird and wonderful world of the ufologists.
Richard’s dogged determination to find Marie is the basis for the plot and we feel his frustration and powerlessness with each fresh dead end he encounters. At times I wanted to shout out loud at our hero to pull himself together; at other times I was impressed by his single minded, obsessive mission to solve the mystery of Marie’s disappearance.
I’d recommend this book to anyone who wants to try something different and enjoys a fast paced adventure.
Thank you to the author for the advance review copy.

20140702-082351-30231386.jpg

Leave a Reply

