Paula Daly

My Book of the Month for February was Keep Your Friends Close by Paula Daly. This was Paula’s second novel, released on 13th March, following on from the acclaimed debut, Just What Kind Of Mother Are You?

I’m delighted to welcome Paula Daly as part of her blog tour, and Paula’s been kind enough to answer a few questions:

20140316-132238.jpg

Keep Your Friends Close is your second novel – how are you enjoying being a published author?
It’s wonderful. The best job in the world in my opinion. Sometimes I’ll be writing a steamy scene – on a cold, wet afternoon – and think, Who else gets to do this? It’s been a magical year.

What does your writing routine look like?
I have three children so I get them off to school, walk the dog, and then start writing at 9.30 am. I aim to do between 800 and 1000 words a day.

What sort of “vital jobs” do you find yourself doing when you should be writing?
Housework mostly. And this is when I know I am in a state of uber avoidance, because I feel productive and virtuous when changing beds and mopping floors. I have to be stern and tell myself that it is all still procrastination at the end of the day.

If Keep Your Friends Close was to be dramatised who would you cast in the main roles?
I think Emily Blunt or Rosamunde Pike could play Eve rather well.

We’re dying to know if Eve in Keep Your Friends Close is based on a real person (you don’t have to name names!)
As ever, it’s not one particular person but an amalgamation of different traits from women I don’t like. I tend to keep flaky, flirtatious women such as this at a distance, as I have nothing to say to them.

What book(s) do you wish you could have written?
Out of Sight by Elmore Leonard
The Help by Kathryn Stockett
One Good Turn by Kate Atkinson

What activities do you enjoy when you have time off?
I have fairly simple tastes. I walk the dog, watch films, read, and chat about nothing on the phone to my sister. That’s about it. If I’m not able to do these activities on a daily basis though I get twitchy and unhappy.

A big “Thank You” to Paula for taking the time to answer those questions.

This post previously included a competition to win a beautiful hardback copy of Keep Your Friends Close courtesy of Transworld publishers.

20140312-183652.jpg

The winner of the competition , selected by random number, was Margaret Norton.

9 thoughts on “Paula Daly

  1. Here is my question to any writer:”Apart from when you are working to a publishing deadline, how do you decide that the work is a finished article and that you’re going to stop tinkering with it and submit it?”

  2. I’d like to know whether the author knows exactly how their story will end as they start to write it or if the outcome ever changes significantly during the writing process.

  3. Just saw this comp on twitter and OMG so happy I did. I’m dying to read this book, all of my friends/bloggers loved it and can’t praise it enough. Well, my question would be: Can you give me your formula to creating a besteseller?
    Thanks so much for the great giveaway! Fingers crossed tightly:)
    Ananda@ThisChickReads
    e-mail: love2slim(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

  4. Did you write stories as a child? Was the act of writing and inventing stories something you felt compelled to do at an early age?

Leave a Reply

