Keep Your Friends Close by Paula Daly. Read February 2014.

“What would you do if your best friend stole your life?…Eve has done this before, more than once, and with fatal consequences…”
In most of the crime fiction I’ve read there’s very little doubt who we are meant to identify with and who are the villains. There is generally an evil-doer / criminal / bad guy pursued by a detective / good guy. What I love about Paula Daly’s books (this is her second) is how she blurs the boundaries. Yes, there is a clear main character that we are rooting for, but they are by no means perfect and have plenty of dark secrets of their own. It is this novelty that I have most enjoyed while reading Keep Your Friends Close.
I was in Natty’s corner throughout against her weak and perfidious spouse, Sean, and the evil former best friend Eve. However, just occasionally I found myself questioning my loyalty to Natty – no more details as I’m coming perilously close to spoilers.
I can’t recommend Keep Your Friends Close highly enough, for any crime fiction / psychological thriller fans. You won’t want to put this book down until you have all the answers to the complex twists and turns of the plot.
Thank you to the publishers for the advance copy. Keep Your Friends Close will be released on 13th March 2014.

20140222-164445.jpg

Leave a Reply

