Devoured by D E Meredith. Read April 2013.

I’ve just returned from spending a few days in the mid 19th century in the company of some fascinating characters and a cleverly constructed plot. I have to confess that until a few weeks ago I was unaware of D E Meredith and her work. I was lucky enough to win a signed copy of The Devil’s Ribbon and was keen to read it, so I consulted fantasticfiction.co.uk and found that the author’s previous novel was Devoured. Ignoring an assurance from the author herself on Twitter that her novels can be read in any order (thank you!) I purchased Devoured for my newly acquired Kindle app in iPad. Despite the incongruity of reading about Victorian London using the latest technology, and once I had stopped trying to catch out the author in any anachronisms, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it to any crime fiction fans. My usual book choices are modern day, psychological thriller, serial killer type but I enjoyed the change and look forward to following up with The Devil’s Ribbon soon. Thank you to “Crime Fiction Lover” @crifilover for the Facebook competition that introduced me to D E Meredith.
Highly recommended.

20140131-141841.jpg

Leave a Reply

